May 11, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two students competing in intercollegiate athletics from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year’s recipients span 17 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including aerospace engineering, agricultural economics, architectural studies, art history, biomedical engineering, business, chemical engineering, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, finance, history, kinesiology, neuroscience, operations management, physiology, public relations, psychology and statistics. All of this year’s recipients have been named Academic All-Conference during their careers.

Ohio State’s two recipients are Lindsay Agnew of the women’s soccer team and Christy Blough of the men’s volleyball team.

Agnew, who has earned a 3.86 grade-point average and graduated from the Ohio State University May 7 with a degree in environment, economy, development and sustainability, recently was selected in the 2017 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) Draft, getting taken by the Washington Spirit with the 19th overall pick. Agnew, from Dublin, Ohio, was a second team All-Big Ten selection in 2016 after leading the Buckeyes with 10 goals and eight assists. The co-captain and 2016 CoSIDA second team Academic All-American concluded her career fourth in program history with 19 assists, tied for 13th with 55 career points and 15th with 17 career goals. Agnew is a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete, a three-time Academic All-Big Ten pick, a 2016 second team NSCAA Scholar All-East Region selection, a 2015 and 2016 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and a 2016 CoSIDA Academic All-District selection. She was recently selected as one of Ohio State’s two 2017 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award winners.

Christy Blough steered the Ohio State men’s volleyball program to back-to-back NCAA national championships in 2016 and 2017 to wrap up his collegiate athletics career. He ranks in the Top 5 all-time in school history with over 4,000 career assists to his name. The 2016-17 AVCA All-America Second Team selection jumped up to the first team for Academic All-America squad. Blough cleaned up at the 2017 OSU Scholar-Athlete Banquet, named the recipient of both the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award and Varsity O Scholarship a few weeks before also being awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor (given to just 28 B1G student-athletes annually). In addition to earning the Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship, Blough also has been nominated by OSU for the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

The complete list of 2016-17 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Alia Abu-Douleh, Women’s Soccer
Aaron Wilks, Men’s Track and Field

Austin Foote, Baseball
Mollie Getzfread, Field Hockey

Loxley Keala, Women’s Volleyball
Alex Meyer, Wrestling

Charde’ Barnes, Women’s Track and Field/Cross Country
Tayler Stiles, Baseball

Eliza Stein, Field Hockey
Cameron Stitt, Men’s Swimming

Michigan State
Nicola Deans, Women’s Gymnastics
Andrew Herr, Men’s Soccer

Bailey Abernathy, Women’s Gymnastics
Michael Kroells, Wrestling

Eric Coufal, Wrestling
Jennie Laeng, Women’s Gymnastics

Julia Abelsky, Fencing
Cooper Wetherbee, Baseball

Ohio State
Christian “Christy” Blough, Men’s Volleyball
Lindsay Agnew, Women’s Soccer

Penn State
Casey Francis, Women’s Swimming
Geno Morelli, Wrestling

Jon McKeeman, Men’s Basketball
Christa Szalach, Women’s Soccer

Patrick McCabe, Men’s Lacrosse
Sarah Regn, Field Hockey

Sara Novak, Softball
Alexander Idarrada, Men’s Rowing