April 10, 2018

Academic Standouts Recognized


April 10, 2018

At the 51st annual Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner Monday in the Ohio Union, 20 members of the Ohio State men’s hockey team were recognized. In all, a record 692 Ohio State Scholar-Athletes were honored at the event.

Men’s hockey seniors Christian Lampasso and Kevin Miller were both honored for the fourth time, while juniors Freddy Gerard, Brendon Kearney, Sasha Larocque and John Wiitala and senior Matthew Weis were recognized for the third time.

Juniors Dakota Joshua, Tommy Parran, Sean Romeo and sophomores Wyatt Ege, Ronnie Hein, Tanner Laczynski and Gordi Myer all picked Ohio State Scholar-Athlete accolades for the second time and senior Luke Stork, along with freshmen Grant Gabriele, Evan Moyse, Tommy Nappier, Austin Pooley and Michael Rounds were honored for the first time.

Fifteen Buckeyes also earned Academic All-Big Ten honors in March – Ege, Gerard, Hein, Joshua, Kearney, Laczynski, Lampasso, Larocque, K. Miller, Myer, Parran, Romeo, Stork, Weis and Wiitala.

At the NCAA Frozen Four reception last week in Saint Paul, Romeo was named the winner of the Elite 90 Award, given to the student-athlete with the highest grade-point average among the Frozen Four participants