April 16, 2019

Academic Honors for the Buckeyes


Members of the Big Ten regular season champion Ohio State men’s hockey team have earned a number of academic awards this spring.

At the Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner last week, 16 Buckeyes were recognized as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes. Freddy Gerard, Brendon Kearney, Sasha Larocque and John Wiitala each earned the honor for the fourth time, while Wyatt Ege, Mason Jobst, Tanner Laczynski, Gordi Myer, Tommy Parran and Sean Romeo are now three-time honorees. Evan Moyse, Austin Pooley and Michael Rounds earned the award for a second time and Matthew Jennings, Quinn Preston and Gustaf Westlund all earned the honor as freshmen.

In March, 13 Buckeyes were named to the Academic All-Big Ten team – Ege, Gerard, Jobst, Kearney, Laczynski, Larocque, Moyse, Myer, Parran, Pooley, Romeo, Rounds and Wiitala.


Ohio State Buckeyes

Jobst was named one of the finalists for the Big Ten Medal of Honor, which is awarded to one male and one female student from the graduating class of each member institution who has demonstrated excellence on and off the field throughout their college career. The highest honor a student competing in conference athletics can achieve in the Big Ten, the award was established in 1915 and was the first award in intercollegiate athletics to demonstrate support for the educational emphasis placed on athletics. During the past century, the Big Ten Medal of Honor has been awarded to more than 1,300 honorees. These individuals have translated their campus experience into success in all walks of life.

The winner of the 2019 Big Ten Medal of Honor for Ohio State will be announced April 23.

Ohio State Buckeyes

Both Brendon Kearney and John Wiitala were selected for the Woody and Anne Hayes Award. The scholarship, established in 1979, provides one or more varsity athletes with financial assistance for postgraduate studies. The recipients of this scholarship are student-athletes who have demonstrated academic achievement (3.00 GPA minimum) and leadership qualities.

Sasha Larocque, who was not at the dinner after signing his first professional contract and joining the AHL Colorado Eagles, was named a Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award recipient. Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State.

Larocque was also named a Senior CLASS Award First Team All-American last week, the second honoree in Buckeye history. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Ohio State Buckeyes