May 12, 2020

Anavia Battle Named Big Ten Indoor Track Athlete of the Year


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2019-20 Big Ten Women’s Indoor Track and Field postseason award recipients on Tuesday. Ohio State junior Anavia Battle was named Track Athlete of the Year. In March, Battle was also named Big Ten’s Track Athlete of the Championships, marking the fourth time in the past six years the same student has swept both honors. In 2017, Ohio State’s Sade Olatoye received both field awards.

 Battle is the second Ohio State student to earn Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year honors, following Christina Manning’s back-to-back awards in 2011 and 2012. Originally from Inkster, Mich., Battle captured titles in the 60 meters (:7.29) and 200 meters (:22.79) at the Big Ten Championships Feb. 28-29 on the way to becoming the fifth Ohio State student chosen as Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships. She also clocked the nation’s second-fastest 200-meter time this season (:22.66) at the Clemson Tiger Paw Invitational on Feb. 14 while breaking the facility’s meet record. During her rookie year for Ohio State, the sprints specialist was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year after her dominant performance during the 2018 Big Ten Championships.

 Also previously announced, Karen Dennis garnered unanimous Big Ten Women’s Indoor Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in her career. She directed the Buckeyes to their fourth Big Ten indoor title after similar victories in 2011, 2015 and 2019.

 Ohio State’s Sportsmanship Honoree is Alexus Pyles. A Clarksburg, Md. native, Pyles is a OSU Scholar-Athlete who specialized in the heptathlon and hurdle events. She finished seventh in both the 60m hurdles and pentathlon at the Big Ten Indoor Championships.


Ohio State Buckeyes