April 27, 2019

34th Annual Jesse Owens Classic Concludes


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 34th Annual Jesse Owens Classic ended in success as the Buckeyes dominated the two-day meet. The weekend ended it with 32 top three finishes, numerous personal bests and two new school records.


How it Happened

• Cody Stine took home the gold in the men’s high jump with a clearance of 2.17m.

• Nick Gray, Tavonte Mott, Eric Harrison Jr. and Tyler Johnson were the 4x100m relay champions. The squad was able to clock in a time of 39.40s.

• The Buckeyes dominated the women’s shot put as Sade Olatoye and Adelaide Aquilla took first and second. Olatoye won with a distance of 17.32m to replace her previous school record of 16.90m and Aquilla with a personal best distance of 16.46m. Of course, Olatoye didn’t stop there as she claimed the title in the women’s discus throw (48.63m).

• Sophomore Tyler Johnson had an impressive day as he took gold in the men’s 400m dash with a personal best time of 46.49s and the men’s 200m dash with a time of 20.85s.

• Karrington Winters took third in the women’s 400m dash with a time of 54.11s.

• Nick Gray was named champion in the men’s 100m dash, where he clocked in a time of 10.18s. He was  just a hundredth of a second shy of his record breaking time of 10.17s.

• Annie Ubbing won the 800m run with a time of 2:07.95s and teammate Aziza Ayoub finished close behind with a time of 2:08.11s to claim third.

• Jump specialist Taylor DeLoach set a personal best in the women’s long jump (6.35m) to take home the championship.

• Bliss Soleyn ended her career at the Jesse Owens Classic as the 100m dash champion. She was able to cross the finish line at 11.61s

• Dominate 200m dash runner Anavia Battle took home the trophy in the event for the Buckeyes with a time of 20.89s.

• Senior DaJuan Seward finished his last home meet as a champion in the men’s triple jump. He was able to jump a season best distance of 15.41m.

• Devon Leahy claimed silver for the Buckeyes in the 3000m steeplechase with a new personal best time of 10:28.98s.

• Senior Mikaela Seibert took home a silver medal for the Buckeyes in the women’s triple with her furthest jump measuring at 12.72m.

• Junior Davion Fisher took second for the Buckeyes in the men’s long jump with a distance of 7.23m.

• Chance Ehrnsberger set a personal best discus throw of 53.39m to earn a bronze medal for the Buckeyes.

• Juniors Cameron Cooper and Frank Hayes went one and two in the men’s 800m run. Cooper finished with a personal best time of 1:49.79s and Hayes with 1:50.30s.

• Pole vaulter, Robby Oswald, took home a bronze medal as he was able to clear a max height of 5.06m.

• Kyle McKinney and Terry Johnson went one and two for the Buckeyes in the men’s 400m hurdles as they both set personal bests. McKinney coming in with a time of 52.00s and Johnson 52.32s.

• The meet ended with the men’s 4x4oom relay team of Terry Johnson, Tyrese Fajardo, Kyle McKinney and Ryan Harrington crossing the finish line with a time of 3:16.29s to claim second.


Up Next

The Buckeyes are back in action in two week and will head to Iowa City to compete in the 2019 Outdoor Big Ten Championships May 10th-12th.


Senior Recognition 

Ohio State Buckeyes