COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s track and field team welcomed some of the country’s top collegiate and professional athletes to Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium for day one of the 25th Jesse Owens Track Classic Friday.

Highlights from day one of the JOTC:

3000m Steeplechase
Adam Green captured the 3000m steeplechase title with a Big Ten-best and personal record time of 8:48.18, also a Top 10 Division I performance. Eastern Michigan senior David Brent was second in 8:50.04, followed by Corey Norwitzke (8:51.85). Buckeyes Cory Leslie (fifth, 8:53.03), Christopher Olinger (11th, 9:02.58) and Donny Roys (16th, 9:07.93) all ran season-best and Top 10 conference times, with Leslie and Roys also posting PRs. Chad Balyo, competing unattached, ran a PR of 9:00.87 to take ninth.

1500m Run
Virginia Tech sophomore Michael Hammon took first in a time of 3:43.65, which also is a Top 20 DI time this outdoor season and three seconds off the stadium record of 3:40.86 set by Jeff See in 2008. Matt Hulse of Queen University finished second in 3:45.75 and Michigan State senior Ian Boyle was third (3:46.73).

5000m Run
William Mulherin of Virginia Tech won the 5000m run in a time of 14:12.33. Spencer Beatty of Michigan State finished second in 14:18.93, holding off Terefe Ejigu of Eastern Michigan at the finish line (14:19.64).

Javelin Throw
Tim Glover, a freshman from Illinois, won the javelin throw title with a 66.90m (219-06) heave, a Top 25 DI mark. Akron’s Tyler Sweet finished second at 65.20m (213-11), with Brian Florek of Kent State taking third (64.20m/210-07).

Hammer Throw
Defending champion A.G. Kruger, the meet and stadium record holder in the event, captured the JOTC hammer throw title once again with an impressive toss of 73.23m (240-03). Garland Porter was second at 71.46m (234-05), while the NCAA’s top-ranked hammer thrower, Marcel Lominicky, was third at 71.18m (233-06).

Pole Vault
Southern Illinois sophomore Cody Doerflein took the title in the pole vault, clearing the bar at 5.05m (16-6.75). Second-place went to Jeffrey Coover of Indiana, with Buckeye Heath Nickles and Jason Rook of Malone finishing in a tie for third (4.90m/16-0.75).
Tomorrow’s events are scheduled to begin at 11:00 a.m. ET with the long jump. Live results are available at