May 24, 2021

22 From Field Hockey Are OSU Scholar-Athletes


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Twenty-two members of Ohio State’s field hockey team earned OSU Scholar-Athlete honors for their work in the classroom. To secure the honor, student-athletes must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better.

Sammy Stone (kinesiology) and Julianna Sweeney (animal sciences), who each graduated this year with their degrees, became four-time scholar-athletes. Three-time honorees are Kennedy Fertitta (finance), Nikki Trzaska (marketing), Katie Pyle (human development and family science), Jessica Hourihane (marketing) Emma Goldean (biology) and Julia Dickinson (communication).

The group was part of a record 799 Ohio State student-athletes recognized with the honor for their academic achievements through the Fall 2020 semester.

Ohio State Field Hockey 2020-21 OSU Scholar-Athletes
Lotte Algra, Gr., Sports Coaching
Mackenzie Allessie, So., Psychology
Leanne Bough, So., Accounting
Sarah Charley, So., Health Sciences Program
Abby Danson, Fr., Construction Systems Management
Julia Dickinson, Jr., Communication
Kennedy Fertitta, Jr., Finance
Louise Fobe, Fr., International Studies
Emma Goldean, Jr., Biology
Ali Gordon, Fr., Exploration
Aaliyah Hernandez, Jr., Biology
Jessica Hourihane, Jr., Marketing
Tess Maloney, Jr., Finance
Megan McKenna, Fr., Health Sciences Program
Samantha Palmer, Fr., Exploration
Katie Pyle, Jr., Human Development & Family Science
Sarah Richards, Fr., Exploration
Sina Schwinn, Jr., Psychology
Zoe Snook, Management & Industry Exploring
Sammy Stone, Gr., Kinesiology
Julianna Sweeney, Sr., Animal Sciences
Nikki Trzaska, Sr., Marketing