August 21, 2018

2018-19 Big Ten Schedule Announced


Note: Season tickets are on sale now; mini-plans will go on sale Thursday, September 20th.Information regarding season tickets, mini-plans and single game tickets can be found here:

2018-19 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio—Big Ten Conference regular-season play will start in early December for the second-consecutive season in 2018-19 for the Ohio State men’s basketball team. This year, the Buckeyes open at home against Minnesota Dec. 2 followed by a neutral-site game vs. Illinois at the United Center in Chicago Dec. 5.

Ohio State opened the season a year ago in December with wins on the road against Wisconsin and then at home over Michigan.

The 2018-19 season, the 107th for the Buckeyes as a member of the Big Ten in men’s basketball, marks the first in which the regular-season league title will be determined following a 20-game schedule. The Buckeyes face 10 league opponents at home, nine on the road and one at a neutral site this year.

Ohio State will play Illinois, Purdue, Rutgers, Maryland, Iowa, Michigan State and Northwestern both in Columbus and on the road (home and home) in 2018-19. Illinois’ home game with the Buckeyes will be contested at the United Center in Chicago this year.

The Buckeyes travel only to Indiana, Michigan and Nebraska. Minnesota, Penn State and Wisconsin will play Ohio State in Columbus only.

The Buckeyes will play in the Chicago area four times in 2018-19 with the game vs. the Illini, a matchup against UCLA Dec. 22 in the CBSSports Challenge (United Center), a game at Northwestern, in renovated Welsh-Ryan Arena, March 6 and the return of the annual Big Ten Tournament to the United Center March 13-17.

Chris Holtmann, head coach of the Buckeyes, begins his second season in Columbus after posting a 25-9 overall record in 2017-18. The Buckeyes finished in the No. 2 spot in the Big Ten Conference regular-season race a year ago with a 15-3 record. Along the way the Buckeyes defeated No. 1 Michigan State at home Jan. 7 (80-64) and No. 3 Purdue on the road Feb. 7 (64-63). Ohio State advanced to the second round of the 2018 NCAA Tournament, defeated South Dakota State before falling to Gonzaga in the West Regional. Those games were played in Boise, Idaho.

Game times and television designations will be announced at a later date.


  • The Buckeyes again will take part in the annual Big Ten/ACC Challenge. Ohio State welcomes Syracuse to Columbus Nov. 28 this year.
  • Now in its fifth year, Ohio State will again play in the CBSSports Classic. The event will take place in Chicago this season Dec. 22. The Buckeyes take on UCLA while Kentucky takes on North Carolina.
  • Creighton will play host to the Buckeyes Nov. 15 in Omaha, Nebraska. The game is part of The Gavitt Games, which pits members of the Big Ten vs. Big East opponents.
  • Two Big Ten Conference games will be played in early December this year in what will become the norm going forward with the league expanding to a 20-game, regular-season slate. Ohio State will host Minnesota Dec. 2 and then will travel to Chicago for a neutral-site game vs. Illinois Dec. 5 at the United Center.
  • The annual Big Ten Tournament returns to the Midwest this year after playing in Washington D.C. in 2017 and New York in 2018. The United Center in Chicago welcomes the Big Ten March 13-17 this year. Indianapolis will host in 2020, Chicago in 2021 and then back to Indianapolis in 2022.
  • The Buckeyes will have 18 home games in 2018-19 plus an exhibition contest vs. UNC Pembroke Nov. 1.
  • Seven Big Ten teams (Illinois, Purdue, Rutgers, Maryland, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern) battle the Buckeyes twice during the regular season with three (Minnesota, Penn State and Wisconsin) traveling only to Columbus. Ohio State travels to face Indiana, Michigan and Nebraska this year.
  • Ohio State will play 12 regular-season games against 10 teams that advanced to postseason play in 2018. Eleven games are scheduled vs. 2018 NCAA Tournament teams (Creighton, Cincinnati, Bucknell, Syracuse, UCLA, Purdue (2), Michigan State(2), Michigan) while two contests pit the Buckeyes vs. 2018 NIT squads (Penn State, Nebraska).

2018-19 Ohio State Schedule

Thursday, November 1UNC Pembroke (Exh.)
Wednesday, November 7at Cincinnati
Sunday, November 11Purdue Fort Wayne1
Thursday, November 15at Creighton2
Sunday, November 18South Carolina State1
Tuesday, November 20Samford1
Friday, November 23Cleveland State1A
Wednesday, Nov. 28Syracuse3
Sunday, December 2Minnesota
Wednesday, December 5vs. Illinois4
Saturday, December 15Bucknell
Tuesday, December 18Youngstown State
Saturday, December 22vs. UCLA5
Saturday, December 29High Point
Saturday, January 5Michigan State
Wednesday, January 9at Rutgers
Saturday, January 12at Iowa
Friday, January 18Maryland
Wednesday, January 23Purdue
Saturday, January 26at Nebraska
Tuesday, January 29at Michigan
Saturday, February 2Rutgers
Thursday, February 7Penn State
Sunday, February 10at Indiana
Thursday, February 14Illinois
Sunday, February 17at Michigan State
Wednesday, February 20Northwestern
Saturday, February 23at Maryland
Tuesday, February 26Iowa
Saturday, March 2at Purdue
Wednesday, March 6at Northwestern
Sunday, March 10Wisconsin
March 13-17Big Ten Tournament4
1-Buckeye Basketball Classic, Value City Arena, Columbus, Ohio
1a-Buckeye Basketball Classic, St. John Arena, Columbus, Ohio
2-2018 Gavitt Games, CenturyLink Center, Omaha, Nebraska
3-Big Ten/ACC Challenge, Value City Arena, Columbus, Ohio
4-United Center, Chicago
5-CBSSports Classic, United Center, Chicago
Home games in Bold