Dec. 12, 2013


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The NCAA announced Wednesday Columbus has been awarded the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Quarterfinals. Ohio State and Columbus will serve as the host of the event, which will be played in Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on the Ohio State campus.

“We would like to thank to Linda Logan of the Greater Columbus Sports Commission, Ohio State Director of Athletics Gene Smith and Ohio State Senior Associate Athletics Director for Internal Operations Mike Penner for their commitment to bringing the NCAA quarterfinals to Columbus,” Nick Myers, Ohio State men’s lacrosse head coach, said. “This is yet another big step for Ohio Lacrosse and the growth of the game across this great state.”

The Ohio State men’s lacrosse program hosted an NCAA tournament game for the first time in the spring, as the No. 3-seeded Buckeyes downed Towson to advance to the quarterfinals.

In all, Columbus was awarded nine NCAA championship events, including men’s and women’s volleyball, women’s swimming, rifle and men’s gymnastics finals.