Sept. 30, 2013

PDF: Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State softball team is set to host the 13th-annual Ohio Collegiate Charity Classic Saturday-Sunday at Fred Beekman Park, located on the Ohio State campus. The event, which the Buckeyes have hosted since the 2001 campaign, has become one of the largest fundraisers for Breast Cancer Awareness Month in central Ohio.

A total of 18 teams will represent Ohio in an event that has raised over $172,000 in the past 12 years for the Stefanie Spielman Fund for Breast Cancer Research. Of the 18 teams, 15 of them will be representing Ohio from schools that include: Ohio State, Akron, Rio Grande, Urbana, Capital, Toledo, Denison, Wright State, Kenyon, Ursuline, Ashland, Dayton, Northwestern Ohio, Ohio Dominican and Miami. Three schools are traveling to the Buckeye state: Hillsdale (Michigan), Northern Kentucky and Ohio Valley (West Virginia). 

Ohio State opens play vs. Akron at 10 a.m. Saturday followed by a contest vs. NKU at 2:30 p.m. On Sunday, the squad will play Ohio at 10:30 a.m. and will wrap up competition vs. Wright State at 12:45 p.m. All four contests for the Buckeyes will be played on Field No. 1.

Admission to the two doubleheaders is free, while entrance to the OCCC is a $5 donation with all proceeds benefiting the Stefanie Spielman Fund. Fred Beekman Park is located west of State Route 315 at Lane Avenue.

Under second-year head coach Kelly Kovach Schoenly, the Buckeyes return 16 letterwinners from 2012 and welcome five newcomers (3 Fr., 1 So., 1 Jr.). Click above, for a full schedule of the 2013 OCCC.