March 1, 2019

200 Free Relay Continues Record-Breaking Ways at Big Ten Championships


Friday Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The Ohio State men’s swimming & diving team set yet another school record on Friday at the 2019 Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships hosted by Iowa at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa. The 200 Free Relay squad broke the school record, clocking in at an NCAA “A” Cut time of 1:16.36.

The Buckeyes maintain their spot in third place with 823 points, behind Indiana (1,144) and Michigan (1,026).

100 Fly
• Noah Lense led the way in the A Final, placing third with a season-best time of 45.45. Michael Salazar was fifth with a career-best time of 45.63, and Henrique Painhas followed with a personal-best time of 45.77 for sixth place.
• Ben Sugar took seventh in the B Final after swimming a career-best of 47.04 in the preliminary session.
• Alex Dillmann (48.18) and Kalvin Koethke (49.13) recorded new personal bests during the morning session.
• Mossimo Chavez set a season best at 48.41.

400 IM
• Daniel Gloude was the top Buckeye finisher in the 400 IM, taking sixth in the B Final with a personal best of 3:47.83.
• Nick Hogsed took sixth in the C Final, setting a season-best in the prelim at 3:51.40.

200 Free
• Paul DeLakis claimed a silver medal in the A Final, clocking in at a season best of 1:33.15. Andrew Loy took fourth with a season-best time of 1:33.66 and Ruslan Gaziev followed in seventh with a personal best of 1:34.83.
• Matthew Abeysinghe took eighth in the C Final after posting a season best in the morning session with a time of 1:36.03.
• Carson Burt recorded a career-best in the prelim with a time of 1:38.85, as did Mateo Chavez (1:39.57).

100 Breast
• Jason Mathews claimed third in the B Final, registering a career-best time of 52.73. Connor Isings placed seventh, setting a season-best of 53.34 in the morning session.
• Evan McFadden won the C Final with a personal best of 53.52.

100 Back
• Henrique Painhas set a career-best time of 46.06 for second place in the A Final. Colin McDermott went 47.00 in the preliminary session, a new career best.
• Ben Sugar was eighth in the B Final behind a personal best of 47.34 in the morning.
• RJ Kondalski won the C Final, clocking in at 47.40 for a new career best. Brad Shannon was fifth with a season best of 47.79.

3-Meter Diving
• In the final, Jacob Siler was the top Buckeye finisher in fifth with a score of 429.40, a season-high. Joseph Canova followed in sixth with a score of 406.40, also a season-high. Aaron Daniels-Freeman rounded out the Buckeye finishers in the final with an eighth-place finish at 361.60, a season-high as well.
• Christo Law finished fifth in the consolation final with a score of 373.45, while Jacob Fielding took seventh with a mark of 356.35.

200 Free Relay
• The 200 Free Relay team set a new school record at 1:16.36, an NCAA “A” Cut.
• Andrew Loy led the group off with a split of 19.56, followed by Ruslan Gaziev (18.85) and Mossimo Chavez (18.77). Ben Sugar anchored the four with a split of 19.18.

Competition wraps up tomorrow, with a preliminary session beginning at noon ET at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa. The final day consists of the 200 Back, 100 Free, 200 Breast, 200 Fly, Platform, 1650 Free and 400 Free Relay.

2019 Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships
March 1, 2019
Campus Recreation and Wellness Center – Iowa City, Iowa 

100 Fly
3. Noah Lense (45.45)
5. Michael Salazar (45.63)
6. Henrique Painhas (45.77)
15. Ben Sugar (47.10)

400 IM
14. Daniel Gloude (3:47.83)
22. Nick Hogsed (3:52.53)

200 Free
2. Paul DeLakis (1:33.15)
4. Andrew Loy (1:33.66)
7. Ruslan Gaziev (1:34.83)
24. Matthew Abeysinghe (1:37.51)

100 Breast
11. Jason Mathews (52.73)
15. Connor Isings (53.37)
17. Evan McFadden (53.52)

100 Back
2. Henrique Painhas (46.06)
8. Colin McDermott (47.21)
16. Ben Sugar (47.64)
17. RJ Kondalski (47.40)
21. Brad Shannon (47.79)

5. Jacob Siler (429.40)
6. Joseph Canova (406.40)
8. Aaron Daniels-Freeman (361.60)
13. Christo Law (373.45)
15. Jacob Fielding (356.35)