Aug. 30, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio ­- Alumni from the Ohio State men’s and women’s golf programs returned to the OSU Scarlet Course Monday for the 19th Annual Buckeye Pro-Am Classic. According to Denny Hoobler, Ohio State associate athletics director for development, early estimates of the event are approximately $50,000 this year. The proceeds will benefit the Ohio State Golf Scholarship Fund as well as upcoming course improvements.

Former Buckeyes Gary Nicklaus (1988-91) and Lisa Strom Fernandes (1996-2000) co-chaired the event this year.

More than $1.7 million has been raised since the Pro-Am’s inception with most proceeds directed toward endowed scholarships. The remaining funds have been used for improvements to the OSU Scarlet and Gray Courses.

Other Ohio State alumni joining Nicklaus and Strom Fernandes this year were: Ryan Armour (1995-98), John Cook (1977-79), Allison Hanna (2001-04), Cathy Kratzert-Gerring (1981-83), Amy Langhals (1994-97), 2004 U.S. Open Champion Meg Mallon (1982-85), Chris Perry (1981-84), Joey Sindelar (1978-81), Ed Sneed (1965-66), Ted Tryba (1986-89) and Chris Wollmann (199-97).

Fourteen groups competed in the 2004 Buckeye Pro-Am, with four teams tying at 17-under par. Ryan Armour’s group, which consisted of John Jacobs, Jana Shipley-Jacobs, Bob Horton and Bill Pritchard, claimed the overall tournament title on the 17th hole.


FINAL SCORES (-17) Ryan Armour, John Jacobs, Jana Shipley-Jacobs, Bob Horton, Bill Pritchard
(-17) Chris Wollmann, Don Gardiner, Michael Turnbull, Scott Hedrick, Jim Coleman
(-17) Amy Langhals, Bill Schenck, Marty LeBoeuf, Denny Gump, Jack Gayheart
(-17) John Cook, Bill Keethaler, Sr., Archie Griffin, Bill Keethaler, Jr., Britt Lindsay

(-16) Ed Sneed, Chris Coleman, Tadd Coleman, Greg Gerhard, Dean Ray
(-16) Chris Perry, Denny Tishkoff, Pete Struzzi, Mark Tishkoff, Kevin Kroos
(-16) Chris Smith, Mike Reynolds, Bob Redmond, Dave Reynolds, Greg Cady
(-14) Joey Sindelar, Pandel Savic, Sam Farb, John McKitrick, Arlene McKitrick

(-13) Meg Mallon, Jeff Lyttle, Melissa Ingwersen, Ellen Tressel, Jim Nichols
(-13) Gary Nicklaus, Larry Hutta, Jim Hutta, Donn Alspach, Tim Backiewicz
(-13) Ted Tryba, Jeff Brown, Anthony Orsini, Dale Peterson, Andy Anderson

(-11) Cathy Kratzert-Gerring, Drew Kunchal, Drew DiMaccio, Rich Langdale, Margaret Armbrust

(-10) Lisa Strom Fernandes, Dave Weeks, Alan Ashbury, Ken DeLuca, Jenney Tenney

(-6) Allison Hanna, Geoff Webster, Nancy Sneed, Bud Hirsch