Sept. 11, 2014

Photo Gallery


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Thirty-five years after winning an NCAA Championship, members of the 1979 Ohio State men’s golf team and Hall of Fame head coach Jim Brown will congregate on campus this weekend to celebrate their 35-year anniversary of winning it all.

“Looking forward to seeing everyone,” said Brown. “It’s been 10 years since I’ve seen some of these guys at our 25th reunion event. I’ve talked to each and every one of the guys, and they are all excited about the event.”

Coach Brown’s squad truly dominated that season with an overall head-to-head record of 203-13. Ohio State took first place in eight of 12 tournaments played; culminating with both Big Ten and NCAA titles. The Buckeyes topped Oklahoma State by two strokes to bring the NCAA hardware back to Columbus. Four Buckeyes cracked the individual top-30, paced by Joey Sindelar’s fifth-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

The Buckeyes were sensational from start to finish. It began with a top finish in the season-opening Buckeye Fall Classic, included a streak of four consecutive tourney titles midseason and concluded by OSU taking home the trophy in each of its final three times taking the course at the Spartan Invitational, Big Ten Championships and NCAA Championships.

Five different players captured medalist honors throughout the season, highlighted by Rick Borg and John Cook sharing the accolade at the Big Ten Championships. Mark Balen (Illinois Invitational), Colin Dalgleish (Northern Intercollegiate) and Joey Sindelar (Robert Kepler Intercollegiate) each were crowned individual champs as well.

Doug Allen
Mark Balen
Rick Borg
Rob Brewster
Mitch Camp
John Cook
Colin Dalgleish
Tom Fairgrieve
Bill Jack
Mike McGree
Rocky Miller
Joey Sindelar
Jim Brown, head coach

As part of the reunion weekend festivities, the ’79 Buckeyes will get together for another round of golf Friday afternoon before touring the Jane & Walt Dennis Golf Performance Center in the evening and enjoying an OSU Football tailgate the following morning. The team will be brought on to the field during Ohio State-Kent State football game and introduced in front of 107,517 of the best fans in the land.

1979 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship – Final Results
Bermuda Run Golf and Country Club, Winston-Salem, N.C.

1. Ohio State 1189
2. Oklahoma State 1191
3. Wake Forest 1196
4. BYU 1198
5. New Mexico 1202
T6. Oral Roberts 1206
T6. North Carolina 1206
8. Arizona State 1213
T9. Houston 1215
T9. Southern California 1215
11. Georgia Southern 1226
12. Fresno State 1229
13. UCLA 1230
14. San Jose State 1234
15. Florida 1236

Ohio State Individuals

T5. Joey Sindelar 74 – 73 – 68 – 83 = 297
T13. John Cook 73 – 76 – 77 – 74 = 300
T28. Rocky Miller 76 – 74 – 77 – 74 = 303
T28. Rick Borg 78 – 76 – 76 – 73 = 303
T48. Mark Balen 83 – 70 – 80 – 74 = 307