1971 Big Ten Championship 40 year reunion

Members of Ohio State’s 1971 men’s basketball team are celebrating the 40th anniversary of their outright Big Ten Championship and NCAA Tournament Elite Eight appearance. These Buckeyes finished the season with a record of 20-6 overall and 13-1 in the Big Ten.

After beating Indiana 91-75 in the regular-season finale, the squad was ranked No. 10 nationally heading into the NCAA Tournament. After a one-point victory over No. 2 Marquette, the Buckeyes lost a heart-breaking overtime game to No. 7 Western Kentucky in the Elite Eight.    

Buckeyes returning for 1971 reunion:  

  • Team captain Jim Cleamons
  • Wendell Heximer
  • Alan Hornyak
  • Gary Kiracofe
  • Mike Macknin
  • Dave Merchant
  • Mark Minor
  • Curt Moody
  • Steve Newell
  • Mike Painter
  • John Petty
  • Bob Seikmann
  • Greg Testerman
  • Bob Thompson
  • Mark Wagar
  • Luke Witte

    Team Managers:   Dave Seif     and         Todd Seif