125 Tournament Voting Page  – CURRENT VOTE: 1954 vs 1970

The 1968 National Championship team opened up the quarterfinal round of the #GoBucks125 Tournament with a runaway 65-35 percent win over the unbeaten 1973 Buckeyes. Next up is the first match up between a pair of national champs as 1954 locks up with 1970. 

Having a knack for the dramatic would serve as quite an understatement for the Jim Tressel-led 2002 National Champion Buckeyes. The team that won seven of 14 games by seven points or less found itself in another tight battle with the 1996 Rose Bowl winning Ohio State squad. That ’96 team – known for some comeback skills of its own – in fact rallied to overtake the national champs and score a 51.7-48.3 percent victory. 

The quarterfinals are now set with six of the seven national championship teams remaining in the field with the 1973 team joining the ’96 Buckeyes to fill out the Elite 8. 

Earlier in Round 2, it was almost too close to call between 1961 and 1974 as Woody Hayes’ third national championship team emerged with a 51.5-to-48.5 percent with

Previously in the second round, the 1957 National Championship team prevailed over the 2007 Buckeyes by a near 70-30 vote while Ohio State’s original national champions of 1942 breezed to a victory over 1899, which had been the surprise of the tournament following a first-round an upset win over the 1995 Buckeyes. 

Earlier, champions rang true again as the 1954 team edged the 1969 squad by a 51.3 to 48.7 count. Previously, the unbeaten 1973 Buckeyes flexed their muscles in a convincing final tally over 1944. 

A nice run for the 2005 Buckeyes came to an end vs. the Super-Sophomorore-turned-seniors of 1970. The second round of the #GoBucks125 Greatest Team Tournament officially started and the No. 1-seeded 1968 National Championship Buckeyes owned up to their top billing staking a convincing victory over the 2006 team. The 1970 National Football Foundation National Champs are next up against the 2005 Buckeyes. Voting is open.  

Here’s a quick look back at the opening round results:

  • Matchup 1: 2006 51.1% vs 1975 48.9%
  • Matchup 2: 2005 57.7% vs 2012 42.3%
  • Matchup 3: 1969 72.3% vs 1979 27.7%
  • Matchup 4: 1944 89.4% vs 1935 10.6%
  • Matchup 5: 2007 56.1% vs 1917 43.9%
  • Matchup 6: 1899 52.2% vs 1995 47.8%
  • Matchup 7: 1996 54.5% vs 1998 45.5%
  • Matchup 8: 1974 79.0% vs 1916 21.0% 

Seven national championships, another seven Heisman Trophy winners, 10 unbeaten seasons, 24 appearances in the country’s final Top 5, 187 first-team All-Americans and it all comes down to ONE tournament to determine the GREATEST Ohio State team of all-time. 

And YOU – the fan – will determine which squad truly is the BEST of the BUCKEYES.

To celebrate and commemorate this – the 125th season of Ohio State football – we’re asking the Best Fans in the Land to participate in the season-long tournament to decide which Buckeye unit is the finest in its storied history.

This summer a media panel was polled to select the best 24 teams in Ohio State’s past and each was seeded in a single-elimination bracket. The seven national champions as well as six unbeaten squads all gained an automatic entry while a field of 11 “at-large” candidates also was weighed by the committee.

The bracket can be viewed here and will present 23 head-to-head matchups between some of the most-talented and accomplished editions not only in Ohio State’s annals, but in the realm of all of college football.

The winner of each individual matchup will be determined by a fan vote. To kick off preseason camp, three year-versus- year votes will be held each week through August 24. Fans can began voting Aug. 1 at .   

Once Game Week against Navy arrives Aug. 25, we’ll feature one matchup per week until teams advance through to the final pairing the week of The Game vs. TTUN in late November.

The all-time greatest team will be announced at The Game Nov. 30 in #TheShoe.