December 14, 2021

15 From Field Hockey Earn Academic All-Big Ten Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Fifteen members of the Ohio State field hockey team were named Academic All-Big Ten on Tuesday, the conference office announced. In order to be eligible, student-athletes must have a 3.0 grade-point average or better and be in at least their second year on campus.

Ohio State’s 15 honorees represent 88 percent of those who were eligible for the award.

Eight members of the team – seniors Julia Dickinson, Kennedy Fertitta, Emma Goldean, Aaliyah Hernandez, Jessica Hourihane, Tess Maloney, Katie Pyle and Sina Schwinn – earned Academic All-Big Ten distinction for the third time. Graduate student Sammy Stone is now a four-time honoree. First-time members of the list are Ali Gordon, Sarah Richards and Megan McKenna.

Ohio State’s 2021 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees
Leanne Bough – Jr. – Accounting – Whitney Point, N.Y.
Sarah Charley – Jr. – Psychology – Worthington, Ohio
Abby Danson – So. – Construction Systems Management – Clifton Park, N.Y.
Julia Dickinson – Sr. – Communication – Collegeville, Pa.
Kennedy Fertitta – Sr. – Finance – Charlotte, N.C.
Emma Goldean – Sr. – Biology – Charlotte, N.C.
Ali Gordon – So. – Exploring – Virginia Beach, Va.
Aaliyah Hernandez – Sr. – Biology – Virginia Beach, Va.
Jessica Hourihane – Sr. – Marketing – Winnetka, Ill.
Tess Maloney – Sr. – Finance – Rumson, N.J.
Megan McKenna – So. – Health Sciences – Mount Laurel, N.J.
Katie Pyle – Sr. – Human Development and Family Science – Lititz, Pa.
Sarah Richards – So. – Health Sciences – Mountain Top, Pa.
Sina Schwinn – Sr. – Psychology – Rheinbach, Germany
Sammy Stone – Gr. – Sport Management – Herndon, Va.