Ohio State will be playing its 125th season of baseball in 2008. The sport is the oldest intercollegiate sport at Ohio State, having first been played in 1881. Through the years Ohio State baseball has produced: an all-time record of 2,228-1,427-2;

96 winning seasons, six .500 seasons and only 22 losing seasons;
College World Series in 1951-65-66-67;
18 NCAA tournament appearances;
14 Big Ten Conference championships;
8 Big Ten tournanement championships;
more than 800 lettermen;
151 captains;
47 All-American honorees, 14 Academic All-Americans and 31 Major Leaguers.

Check back to each week for a look into Ohio State’s first varsity sport.
Also examine timelines into four distinc eras of Buckeye baseball, starting with 1881-1951.

04/18/2008 – Past Captains
Ohio State toes the pitching rubber against Purdue this weekend at Bill Davis Stadium. The series starts at 6:35 p.m. Friday as baseball kicks off Ohio State’s weekend “Scarlet and Gray Days” celebration. – MORE

04/11/2008 – A Perfect 10 Coaches
There were just two coaches for the first 29 seasons Jack Reed for the 1901-02 season and C.W. Dickerson in 1903. L.W. St. John was the team’s first full-time coach, starting in 1913. – MORE

04/01/2008 – The Early Years 1881-1951
Ohio State baseball has long been a part of the university’s history. Only 11 years after The Ohio State University was founded it had a baseball team, the school’s first official sport. Buckeye baseball has written 124 years worth of rich tradition and it seeks to add to that tradition handsomely in 2008. – MORE

03/26/2008 – Ohio State Baseball Since 1881
Baseball, the national pastime, has been an Ohio State pastime since 1881, making the sport of baseball the Buckeyes’ oldest varsity sport. Since that first season, when the Buckeyes posted a modest but perfect, 1-0, record, Ohio State has won more than 2,200 games. – MORE