COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ten student-athletes from the six-time defending Big Ten champion Ohio State Buckeyes, including seven seniors, were named first-team all-Big Ten Conference today by either a vote of the conference head coaches, a vote of the conference media or in five cases, both.

First-team all-Big Ten Buckeyes as selected by both the coaches and the media are defensive lineman Cameron Heyward, receiver Dane Sanzenbacher, linebacker Brian Rolle, cornerback Chimdi Chekwa and offensive tackle tackle Mike Adams.

Those Buckeyes named first-team all-Big Ten by the coaches include running back Dan “Boom” Herron, linebacker Ross Homan and safety Jermale Hines. Additional first-team media choices were offensive guard Justin Boren and center Mike Brewster.

The honors for the seniors was most fitting when one considers the remarkable run of success the members of this class have been a part of, including…

  • Never not winning or sharing a Big Ten Conference championship, and in the process…
  • Extending Ohio State’s run of Big Ten championships to a record-tying six consecutive;
  • Winning 43 games the last three-plus years against only eight losses;
  • Winning 28 of 32 games against Big Ten Conference opponents;
  • Helping Ohio State become the only FBS school with five consecutive AP Top 10 finishes; and
  • Extending Ohio States streak of 10-or-more-win seasons to a Big Ten record six consecutive years.

“Our seniors…they’re just first-class,” Coach Jim Tressel said in his post-game comments Saturday. “They do things the way you’re supposed to do them. They’re unselfish. They don’t care if they have the spotlight and all they want to do is help Ohio State.”

The first-team honors, which boost Ohio State’s total to 361 all-time first-team honorees, are the first for all of the Buckeyes except for Boren, who was also chosen last season by the media. The 10 accolades ties five other Ohio State teams for third on the school’s all-time lists of most all-Big Ten selections. The 1969 team and the 1975 team each had 11 first-teamers.

Kicker Devin Barclay was a second-team selection by the conference media. Buckeyes picking up honorable mention honors on both the coaches and the media ballots are quarterback Terrelle Pryor, receiver DeVier Posey and defensive lineman John Simon.

Senior offensive guard Bryant Browning was chosen as Ohio State’s Sportsmanship Award honoree.

More Quotes:

  • “It’s a huge honor to be selected for the all-conference team in a league with so much great talent across the board as the Big Ten.” – Dane Sanzenbacher
  • “I am extremely honored and proud to be named to the all-Big Ten team.” – Mike Brewster
  • “This is a huge honor. I am humbled to be chosen with all the great talent in the Big Ten this year.” – Justin Boren
  • “This honor is just a blessing and a dream come true. It belongs also to my teammates at running back and all our offensive linemen.” – Dan “Boom” Herron
  • “I am excited an honored to recognized as one of the best in the Big Ten. It’s a tribute not just to me, but to my teammates. I thank God for this opportunity.” – Chimdi Chekwa
  • “An honor like this means the world to me. To say that I am all-Big Ten is truly a blessing because that was one of my goals from the day I entered college. I have always wanted to be a part of that elite group.” – Cameron Heyward
  • “I am humbled and a little overwhelmed. And to have so many Buckeyes on the team is really sweet.” – Ross Homan
  • “Thank you, Jesus, for all the opportunities, and thanks to my teammates and coaches for all we have done together.” – Brian Rolle
  • “Wow! This is an amazing honor and a dream come true.” – Jermale Hines