Share

Dec. 5, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio – %^$Anne Botica (Sr., Windsor, Ontario) and Stacey Gordon (Fr., Oshawa, Ontario) have been named to the 12-player Midwest All-Region squad as selected by the American Volleyball Coaches Association. Gordon was also selected as the Region Freshman of the Year. The AVCA All-American committee will now consider players selected from the eight regions for the All-American squads to be named next wee.%^$

%^$Botica, an All-Big Ten selection, averages 4.85 kills per game, is hitting .290 and has a 2.89 digs per game. She is ranked 19th in kills per game in the latest NCAA Statistics released Nov. 25. Botica was the Big Ten co-Player of the Week in wins over Minnesota and Iowa. Gordon was an All-Big Ten selection and was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. She averages 4.71 kills per game, is hitting .303 and has a 3.00 digs per game average. Gordon is ranked 25th in kills per game in the latest NCAA Statistics released Nov. 25. She was named the Big Ten Player of the Week three times and was the AVCA National Player of the Week in wins over Penn State and Purdue.%^$

%^$

%^$Mideast Region%^$Lisa Argabright University of Illinois MB So.%^$Lindsey Berg *** University of Minnesota S Sr.%^$Anne Botica The Ohio State University OH Sr. %^$Jenny Bowman Northern Illinois University S So.%^$Lizzy Fitzgerald ** University of Wisconsin S Sr.%^$Stacey Gordon The Ohio State University OH Fr. %^$Stephanie Hagen *** University of Minnesota MB Sr.%^$Erin Hartley Michigan State University OH Sr.%^$Sherisa Livingston **** University of Wisconsin MB Sr.%^$Sara Meyermann The University of Iowa OH Sr.%^$Caty Rommeck Bowling Green State Univ. MB Sr.%^$Katie Schumacher *** Pennsylvania State Univ. RS/Opp Sr.%^$* denotes total number of years selected to All-Region Team%^$Region Freshman of the Year: Stacey Gordon, Ohio State Univ., OH %^$

%^$BUCKEYES TO PLAY SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA IN NCAA REGIONAL SEMIFINAL THURSDAY%^$

%^$The Ohio State (27-3) women’s volleyball team will face Southern California (24-3) in the NCAA Regional Semifinals at 7 p.m. PST (10 p.m. EST), Thursday, Dec. 6 in the Sports Arena in Los Angeles, Calif. The first semifinal has Arizona (23-4) playing Pacific (28-7) at 5 p.m. PST (8 p.m. EST). The winners of the two matches return at 6 p.m. PST (9 p.m. EST), Friday, Dec. 7 to play for a berth in the NCAA Championship semifinal next Thursday in San Diego, Calif.