May 28, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State head coach Andy Teitelbaum and assistant coach Diana Albrecht earned Central Region Coach of the Year and Central Region Assistant Coach of the Year honors Tuesday, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced.

The award marks the fifth honor for Teitelbaum, who previously won the award in 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2011. It marks the second honor for Albrecht, who was previously awarded the laurel in 2008.

This season, Teitelbaum and Albrecht coached the Buckeyes to their fourth Big Ten title with a Big Ten Championship record 160 points after five of seven crews placed first in their respective races. Throughout the 2013 season, Teitelbaum and Albrecht guided the Buckeye varsity crews to a 32-8 overall record, including a 7-2 mark in the first varsity eight, a 7-1 record in the first varsity four and a perfect 9-0 mark in the second varsity eight.

Additionally, four Ohio State rowers were honored by the CRCA as senior Allison Elber and juniors Claire-Louise Bode and Eelkje Miedema were named First Team All-Central Region and junior Cori Meinert was named Second Team All-Central Region.

All four Buckeyes are members of the first varsity eight, which has compiled a 7-2 record throughout the 2013 season. Last weekend, the crew earned a gold medal at the 2013 Big Ten Championships, clinching the team title for Ohio State and contributing 63 points toward the championship record 160 points overall.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team’s regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams’ varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

Five Buckeyes were also named CRCA Scholar-Athletes. Meinert, junior Lauren Eckles and sophomores Victoria Lazur, Chloe Meyer and Amanda Poll were recognized for earning a 3.5 grade point average or higher while in at least their second year of eligibility. Student-athletes are also required to row in 75 percent of the team’s spring races in order to be eligible.

The Buckeyes will compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships May 31-June 2 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. The team qualified for the 14th-consecutive season and 15th overall, earning an automatic bid as the 2013 Big Ten Champion.

2013 Central Region Coach of the Year

Andy Teitelbaum

2013 Central Region Assistant Coach of the Year

Diana Albrecht

2013 CRCA Central All-Region First Team

Claire-Louise Bode

Allison Elber

Eelkje Miedema

2013 CRCA Central All-Region Second Team

Cori Meinert

2013 CRCA Scholar-Athletes

Name                 Major

Lauren Eckles     Communications

Victoria Lazur      Public Affairs

Cori Meinert        Environmental Science

Chloe Meyer       Neuroscience

Amanda Poll       Human Development and Family Science