November 27, 2016

Ohio State Sent to Manhattan, Kansas For NCAA Tournament Opening Weekend

Share

Nov. 27, 2016

RELATED INFO

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State University women’s volleyball team (20-12) earned an at-large bid into the 2016 NCAA Tournament and will begin competition on the campus of Kansas State University. The Buckeyes are set to face Missouri State (26-8) in the first round (Friday, Dec. 2, 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT) with the potential of a second round tilt versus either the host and 14th-seeded Wildcats (20-9) or Lipscomb (22-7) on Saturday (Dec. 3).

Complete 64-Team Bracket (html) | Complete 64-Team Bracket (pdf) 

Friday, Dec. 2
6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT – Ohio State vs. Missouri State
8:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. CT – No. 14 Kansas State vs. Lipscomb

Saturday, Dec. 3
8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT – Winner of Ohio State/Missouri State vs. Winner of Kansas State/Lipscomb

This marks Ohio State’s 22nd NCAA Tournament qualification all-time, including six of the last seven seasons. The Buckeyes are 33-21 (.611) overall in the NCAA Tourney and have advanced to the ‘Sweet 16’ over 70 percent of the time (15 of 21 postseason appearances). Geoff Carlston has led the charge to five ‘Sweet 16’ showings in 12 NCAA Tournament berths in 14 seasons as a Division-I head coach (Ohio 2003-07; Ohio State 2008-present). The Buckeyes are one of just 11 programs nationally to reach the Regionals round four time or more since 2010.

Ohio State is joined in the NCAA Tournament by seven additional members of the Big Ten Conference, tied with the Pac-12 for most in the field.

Stay tuned to OhioStateBuckeyes.com and @ohiostatewvball for further information.