August 30, 2018

Ohio State Hits the Road for Rebel Invitational

Share

RELATED INFO

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s volleyball team heads south for its first road trip of the 2018 season this week to take part in the Rebel Invitational. The Buckeyes will face Southern Miss and tournament host Ole Miss Friday at 1 p.m. ET and 7:30 p.m. ET, respectively. The finale against Samford is slated for 12:30 p.m. ET Saturday.

FRIDAY, AUG. 31

Ohio State vs. Southern Miss | 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT

Live Stats

Ohio State at Ole Miss | 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT

Live Stats | Live Stream (SECN+)

SATURDAY, SEPT. 1

Ohio State vs. Samford | 12:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. CT

Live Stats

SCOUTING REPORT

Ohio State’s matches against Southern Miss and Samford will be the first-ever meetings between the programs. The Golden Eagles began their season at home with a 3-0 record while the Bulldogs went 2-1 at their home opener.

It has been 37 years since the Buckeyes and Rebels have faced off on the court. The lone match between the teams took place in 1981, which Ohio State won by a 2-0 decision. Ole Miss has a 2-1 record heading into the weekend.

WITTE CLAIMS WEEKLY HONOR

Sophomore middle blocker Lauren Witte earned her first career honor on Monday after being named Big Ten co-Player of the Week. Witte hit an impressive .636 (37-2-55) during Ohio State’s 3-0 opening weekend inside St. John Arena. Her 48 points, 37 kills, 12 blocks and three service aces helped her claim MVP status and a spot on the all-tournament team.

The Mentor, Ohio native got the ball rolling in the season opener against Albany with a career-high 19 kills and 20.5 points. Witte continued her dominance versus Ohio on 11 of 13 error-free swings for an astonishing .846 clip and four blocks. She chipped in seven kills, five blocks, two digs and two aces in the tournament finale against Texas A&M.

LAST TIME OUT

Ohio State was crowned champions of the Sports Imports D.C. Koehl Classic after going a perfect 3-0 to start the 2018 campaign. The Buckeyes only dropped one set the entire weekend and outscored their opponents by 65 points. Lauren Witte was voted tournament MVP and was joined on the all-tournament team by Mia Grunze and Camry Halm.

MAKING HISTORY

Buckeye Nation had St. John Arena rocking last Saturday, especially the student section. A total of 1,022 Ohio State students showed up to support the women’s volleyball team, the largest student crowd in program history.

NEW ADDITIONS

Ohio State welcomed six new faces to its 2018 roster. The incoming class featured two transfers and four freshman – Olivia Dailey, Jordan Fry, Camryn Moeller, Mia Grunze, Vanja Bukilić and Adria Powell.

UP NEXT

The Buckeyes are back on the road Sept. 7-8 at the Towson Invitational. Ohio State will take on Princeton, Missouri and Towson.