Oct. 23, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State rowing team has announced its 2014 schedule. The seven-race slate features regular-season competition from eight teams that concluded the 2013 season ranked within the Top 20 or receiving votes in the CRCA/US Rowing Coaches poll.

The 2013 NCAA National Champion Buckeyes open the 2014 season with Big Ten competition at home, hosting Indiana and Michigan March 29 at Griggs Reservoir on the Scioto River. The season-opening race marks the lone home event for Buckeyes throughout the 2014 campaign.

Ohio State will travel to Corvallis, Ore., the following weekend (April 5) to race Oregon State and Stanford at Dexter Lake. Last year, Stanford finished the season ranked No. 9 while Oregon State finished the season just outside of the rankings, but received votes (11).

The Scarlet and Gray travel to Iowa City, Iowa, April 12 to compete against Louisville and Iowa, programs that finished the 2013 season ranked No. 20 and received votes (1), respectively. Ohio State raced against Louisville last season at the Clemson Invitational, and posted seven wins.

The Buckeyes continue their stretch of racing April 19 in Ann Arbor, Mich., where they will go up against Notre Dame and Virginia. Ohio State claimed five wins against Notre Dame last year at the OSU Invitational, also claiming five wins against 2012 NCAA Champion Virginia at the Clemson Invitational. Virginia and Notre Dame closed out the 2013 campaign ranked No. 5 and No. 13, respectively.

Ohio State has a bye week before returning to action May 3 at Ann Arbor, Mich., for its final regular-season regatta. The Buckeyes will face Louisville for a second time, while also competing against Michigan State, who ended the 2013 season receiving votes (6) in the rankings.

The Buckeyes begin postseason competition with the 2014 Big Ten Championships, held at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind., May 18. Last year, the Scarlet and Gray captured its fourth conference title in record fashion after winning five out of seven races (first novice eight, third varsity four, first varsity four, second varsity eight and first varsity eight) to earn a championship record 160 points.

After the conference championships, the Buckeyes will look to defend their national titles at the 2014 NCAA Championships, hosted for the second consecutive year by Notre Dame in conjunction with the Indiana Sports Corporation at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis from May 30 – June 1.