May 13, 2012

First Varsity Eight

Second Varsity Eight

First Varsity Four

Second Varsity Four

First Novice Eight

Second Novice Eight

Team Points

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 4 Ohio State rowing team finished second with 145 points at the 2012 Big Ten Championships Sunday at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. Michigan was crowned the Big Ten champion with 147 points, while Wisconsin rounded out the Top 3, scoring 122 points.

A pair of seniors in Ulrike Denker and Emily Walsh was named First Team All-Big Ten. Sophomore Claire-Louise Bode and freshman Ilse Paulis earned Second Team All-Big Ten honors.

The regatta began with the Second Novice Eight race and the Buckeye crew of Andie Bonamer, Ellen Zwick, Katherine Skouby, Rachel Layfield, Julie Walsh, Sarah Marshall, Sara Handa, Heather Truthan and coxswain Melissa Trejo finished second with a time of 6:49.145. Earning Ohio State six team points, the 2N8 crossed the finish line 3.586 seconds behind Wisconsin.

The First Novice Eight (Anne Fruth, Sarah Kessler, Kelsey Albrinck, Caroline Schneller, Chloe Meyer, Nicole Becks, Meghan Rewick, Sarah Milota and coxswain Claire Sasowsky) posted the first victory of the day for the Scarlet and Gray, sounding the horn in a time of 6:40.677, 5.601 seconds ahead of the Badgers. Ohio State earned 14 points with the victory to move to first place with 20 total points. Wisconsin was second with 19 points.

In the third race of the day, the Second Varsity Four claimed first place by beating its opponents by almost 10 seconds with a time of 7:12.916. Michigan came in second (7:22.496) and Wisconsin crossed the finish line in third place (7:27.082).The Second Varsity four consisted of coxswain Sami Jurofsky, Kara Shropshire, Ashley Dzurnak, Eelkje Miedema and Katie Coons. The Scarlet and Gray added 14 more points for 34 overall to maintain their lead. Wisconsin was second with 29 and Michigan rounded out the Top 3 with 27 points.

The First Varsity Four of coxswain Alexandra Sawatzki, Taylore Urban, Katie King, Stephanie Johnson and Emily Ralph placed first with the largest margin of victory of the day, crossing the finish line at 7:01.815. Wisconsin once again finished in second place with a time of 7:14.185. With the victory, Ohio State extended its lead further as it added 21 points to total 55 points after four races. Wisconsin still held strong in second place with 47 points.

In the second to last race of the championships, the Buckeyes fell second to Michigan in the Second Varsity Eight race. The Second Varsity Eight of Katie Beletskaya, Samantha Fowle, Ashley Bauer, Meghan Birkbeck, Claudia Schiwy, Holly Norton, Cori Meinert and Nadine Seehaus were led by coxswain Victoria Lazur. The Wolverines won in a time of 6:26.826 with the Buckeyes 5.199 seconds behind in a time of 6:32.025. Ohio State was still able to hold the lead in the championships with 91 points while Michigan (84) and Wisconsin (77) were in second and third place, respectively.

The winner of the Big Ten championships came down to the final race with 63 points on the line. The First Varsity Eight of Ellen Heister, Claudia Herpertz, Ulrike Denker, Emily Walsh, Kate Sweeney, Allison Elber, Ilse Paulis, Claire-Louise Bode and coxswain Amanda Poll crossed the finish line in 6:29.809 for second place. Michigan claimed the race and team title after finishing in 6:24.350. Ohio State earned 54 points to total 145 points, just two points behind Michigan’s 147.

The Buckeyes will look to compete in their 13th-consecutive NCAA championships. The 2012 NCAA Selection show for the 16-team field will be held at 5 p.m. Tuesday May 15. The NCAA championships will be held on Lake Mercer in West Windsor, N.J., May 25-27.

No. 4 Ohio State at Big Ten Championships
May 13, 2012
Eagle Creek Park
Indianapolis, Ind.

Team Standings
1. Michigan (147)
2. Ohio State (145)

3. Wisconsin (122)
4. Michigan State (80)
5. Minnesota (77)
6. Indiana (44)
7. Iowa (29)

All-Big Ten Recipients
First Team

Asja Zero, Indiana
Annemarie Bernhard, Iowa
Julia Darnton, Michigan
Emily Eiffert, Michigan
Felice Mueller, Michigan
Amanda McGeachie, Michigan State
Molly Kalmoe, Minnesota
Ulrike Denker, Ohio State
Emily Walsh, Ohio State

Vanessa Kleiss, Wisconsin

Second Team
Cara Donley, Indiana
Katy Kroll, Iowa
Lindsey Healy, Michigan
Melisa Ongun, Michigan
Michelle Neuder, Michigan State
Alyssa Haws, Minnesota
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Ilse Paulis, Ohio State

Kate Mansfield, Wisconsin
Amy Slesar, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Asja Zero, Indiana
Sarah Radke, Iowa
Kate Grimaldi, Michigan
Jocelyn Smith, Michigan State
Sara Baldvins, Minnesota
Katie King, Ohio State

Jane Roberts, Wisconsin