May 17, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 3 Ohio State women’s rowing team travels to Indianapolis, Ind., this weekend to compete at the 2013 Big Ten Championships Sunday at Eagle Creek Park.



Hosted by the Indianapolis Rowing Center for the third consecutive year, the 2013 Big Ten Championships are scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. ET as a seven-lane finals-only regatta with the winner of the team event named the conference champion.

The 2012 Big Ten Rowing Championship was claimed by Michigan, the program’s fifth conference title and its first since 2004. Ohio State and Michigan State have each captured three program titles, while Minnesota and Wisconsin each have one.

Admission to the 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships is free; however, there is a $6 fee per car to gain entry to the park.

LIVE UPDATES                                                                                                                  

For updates throughout the morning, follow Ohio State rowing on twitter (@OhioState_WROW). Updates can also be found at and @BigTenChamps on twitter.


The Big Ten Network will televise the 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships on tape delay at 4 p.m. ET Sunday, May 26.


9 a.m. – II Novice Eights

9:20 a.m. – I Novice Eights

9:40 a.m. – III Varsity Fours

10 a.m. – II Varsity Fours

10:20 a.m. – I Varsity Fours

10:40 a.m. – II Varsity Eights

11 a.m. – I Varsity Eights

12 p.m. – Awards Presentation


RACE                   FINISH/POINTS

                                 1      2     3     4     5      6     7

I Varsity Eight     63    52   45   36   27    18   9

II Varsity Eight    42    36   30   24   18    12   6

I Varsity Four      21    18   15   12   9      6     3

II Varsity Four     14    12   10   8     6      4     2

I Novice Eight     14    12   10   8     6      4     2

II Novice Eight    7      6     5     4     3      2     1

III Varsity Four    7      6     5     4     3      2     1


Ohio State boasts five top-seeded boats this weekend as the First Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, First Varsity Four, Second Varsity Four and Third Varsity Four crews all claimed No. 1 seeds.

The Buckeye First Novice Eight earned the No. 3 seed, while the Second Novice Eight earned the No. 4 seed.



Katie King

Cori Meinert

Eelkje Miedema

Ashley Bauer

Meghan Birkbeck

Allison Elber

Holly Norton

Claire-Louise Bode

Victoria Lazur (coxswain)


Daphne Socha

Kate Beletskaya

Silvia DeMatteis

Stephanie Johnson

Nicole Becks

Lauren Eckles

Samantha Fowle

Catherine Shields

Amanda Poll (coxswain)


Dara Schnoll (coxswain)

Taylore Urban

Sara Handa

Chloe Meyer

Aina Cid-Centelles


Sami Jurofsky (coxswain)

Julie Dick

Anne Fruth

Sarah Kessler

Katherine Tylinski


Claire Sasowsky (coxswain)

Julie Walsh

Sarah Marshall

Jillian Getz

Sarah Milota


Miranda Branstool

Victoria Langwasser

Anna Gackowski  

Sytske Miedema    

Hailey Tiarks     

Bridget Verdeyen   

Julia Vari 

Anna Ralph

Sarah Asad (coxswain)


Corinne Jones

Jacy Theiss     

Sarah Byrd

Victoria Popp 

Casey Hawkins    

Nicole Bosse

Amanda Bauer

Jessa Goldner    

Alexandra Irving (coxswain)


Ohio State has won three Big Ten team titles throughout program history, most recently claiming the conference title in 2011 (142 points). The Buckeyes also won the conference championship in 2006 (130 points) and 2002 (138 points). In all, the Buckeyes have earned 12 Top 3 finishes at the conference championships.


Ohio State remains No. 3 in the latest CRCA/USRowing Coaches Poll. With their Top 5 ranking, the Buckeyes remain the highest ranked Big Ten team followed by No. 13 Michigan, No. 14 Wisconsin and No. 20 Minnesota. Michigan State and Iowa are also in the mix, both having received votes towards the rankings.

The Buckeyes have ranked within the Top 5 for all but one week of the 2013 season, and have ranked No. 3 for four consecutive weeks (April 24-May 15).


Ohio State hosted No. 8 Harvard on the Scioto River at Griggs Reservoir May 4. The Buckeyes swept varsity competition against the Crimson, with wins in the first varsity four, second varsity eight and first varsity eight.

The first varsity four opened varsity competition, claiming first place with a time of 7:54.47 over Ohio State ‘C’ (8:05.69), Ohio State ‘B’ (8”06.50) and Harvard (8:08.57). Next, the second varsity eight sounded the horn in 7:01.94, 14 seconds ahead of Harvard (7:15.35) while the first varsity eight concluded competition with the third and final varsity win of the morning. The crew finished the race three seconds ahead of Harvard (6:56.98) with a time of 6:53.29.


Of the 19 opponents the Buckeyes have faced throughout the regular season, 16 are currently ranked or receiving votes towards the rankings. Ohio State has posted a combined 30 wins over these opponents, including five over defending national champion No. 4 Virginia.


First Varsity Eight: 6-2

Second Varsity Eight: 8-0

First Varsity Four: 6-1

Second Varsity Four: 4-3

Third Varsity Four: 4-2

The Buckeye varsity crews have combined for an overall regular season record of 28-8.


Ohio State’s second varsity eight continues its regular season undefeated streak from the 2012 campaign (9-0), and now stands at 8-0 this season and 17-0 in regular season competition dating back to March 24, 2012.

In postseason action last year, the second varsity eight placed second to Michigan at both the 2012 Big Ten Championships and the 2012 NCAA Championships, falling short of a national title by just 1.90 seconds.


The Buckeyes have won three Big Ten Boat of the Week Awards this season (April 9-April 23). The first varsity eight earned the first award, while the second varsity eight has tallied the last two.

2013 Boats of the Week

March 12:  Minnesota First Varsity Eight
March 19:  Indiana First Novice Eight
March 26:  Minnesota First Varsity Eight
April 2:  Michigan First Varsity Eight
April 9:  Ohio State First Varsity Eight

                Michigan First Varsity Four
April 16: Ohio State Second Varsity Eight
April 23: Ohio State Second Varsity Eight

April 30: Wisconsin First Varsity Four


Ohio State won its first national title in 2012 when the 1V4 of coxswain Alexandra SawatzkiTaylore UrbanKatie KingStephanie Johnson and Emily Ralph crossed the line in 7:13.09 to defeat Virginia by 2.09 seconds.  Previously, the Buckeye 1V4 had placed as high as third at the NCAA Championships in 2006 in West Windsor, N.J.


The field for the 2013 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships will be announced Tuesday, May 21 at 5 p.m. during the selection show streamed live at


Ohio State travels to Indianapolis, Ind., to compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships May 31-June 2 at Eagle Creek Park.