April 25, 2015

Photo Gallery 


COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 1 Ohio State won all six races Saturday morning in its regular-season finale against No. 13 Michigan, No. 17 Syracuse and Michigan State at Griggs Reservoir on the Scioto River.

Crews faced scattered showers and a slight crosswind out of the east throughout much of the morning and afternoon. The regatta served as a preview of the racing setup for the upcoming conference and national championships as teams competed four wide with rotating lanes.

The Scarlet and Gray gained early momentum as the second novice eight won its race in a time of 7:01.9, nearly 10 seconds faster than runner-up Syracuse. The Buckeyes hit open water with about 500 meters remaining in the race and cruised to the finish line.

Ohio State and Michigan State separated from the rest of the field early in the first novice eight contest and raced neck-and-neck for the duration. The Spartans led for much of race before the Buckeyes took the lead over the final 500 meters to win by three seconds (6:58.3-6:51.00).

Five boats competed in the subsequent race, a combined second varsity four/third varsity four competition. The Buckeye second varsity four sounded the horn first overall in a time of 7:26.9, seven seconds clear of the Michigan 2V4. Ohio State’s third varsity four was fifth in a time of 7:48.00.

The first varsity four contest was a tight affair between the Buckeyes and Wolverines. OSU held a slim advantage for much of the race, ultimately finishing four seconds ahead of UM with a time of 7:24.5.

Rain and wind picked up prior to the start of the second varsity eight race, but OSU managed to weather the storm and the opposition, winning by nearly eight seconds. The boat crossed the line in a time of 6:36.1.

In the final race of the day, the first varsity eight capped an undefeated regular season with a winning time of 6:19.8, five seconds faster than second-place Michigan. The 1V8 closes the regular season 10-0 in races and 27-0 overall. The boat is 22-0 in races and 61-0 overall since the start of the 2014 season.

Ohio State now has two open weekends prior to the 2015 Big Ten Championships in Indianapolis May 16-17. OSU is the two-time defending B1G champion and will be competing for a record sixth conference crown.

Boat Lineups
Chloe Meyer
Aina Cid Centelles
Anna Ralph
Stephanie Williams
Ashley Bauer
Sarah K. Davis
Catherine Shields
Holly Norton
Coxswain Sami Jurofsky

MaryClare Stannard
Bridget Verdeyen
Laura Monteso Esmel
Annie Jachthuber
Cassandra Johnson
Bridget Schodorf
Allyson Baker
Rachel Engel
Coxswain Sarah Asad

Sarah Peffley
Emily Caudle
Anna Gackowski
Anne Dietrich
Coxswain Maggie Creely
Casey Schaffer
Emily Markham
Sarah N. Davis
Sandra Dinter
Coxswain Dani Figliuolo

Chelsea Harpool
Rory O’Shaughnessy
Hailey Tiarks
Joan Darnell
Coxswain Katelyn Carson (novice)
Kaylee Koker
Ashley Saba
Morgan Hummel
Kelsey Tester
Catherine McNutt
Bianca Piloseno
Hanna Gottschalk
Stephanie Gase
Coxswain Rachel Kitay

Rachel Parker
Cynthia Jennings
Brittany Trischan
Elizabeth Spahr
Hannah Smith
Karen Somes
Hannah Hites
Erica Smith
Coxswain Mia Francisco

Boat-by-Boat Record
1V8: 1-0 (10-0 in 2015)
2V8: 1-0 (9-1 in 2015)
1V4: 1-0 (8-2 in 2015)
2V4: 1-0 (8-2 in 2015)
3V4: 0-1 (0-5 in 2015)
1N8: 1-0 (6-4 in 2015)
2N8: 1-0 (3-4 in 2015)