May 29, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Alayna Markwordt and Gabby Capuzzi, both senior captains on the Ohio State women’s lacrosse team, were named Second Team All-Americans by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) in conjunction with the national championship festivities over Memorial Day weekend in Stony Brook, N.Y. This is the fourth time in program history Ohio State has had multiple selections, while Markwordt becomes the third two-time recipient among the Buckeyes’ 12 overall selections.

A candidate for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award, Markwordt ended her career as the most productive scorer in Ohio State history. The attacker from Woodbine, Md., wrapped up the year third in the NCAA in points per game (5.29) and fifth in assists per game (2.88) and total assists (49), all totals which topped the ALC. Markwordt is the Ohio State record holder in career goals (181) and points (314), while finishing second all-time in assists (133). She scored at least one point in 65-consecutive games, dating back to fourth game of freshman season.

Capuzzi led the squad with 42 goals, 52 draw controls, 38 ground balls and 31 caused turnovers, holding the top spot in the ALC with an average of 1.82 CT per game, a mark which ranked 14th in the nation. The Broomall, Pa., native is the OSU record holder for career draws (166) after tying the single-season draw record in 2012 and owning two of the Top 3 positions. Capuzzi is a two-time IWLCA All-West/Mid-West Region selections and adds the All-American nod to her list of senior year accolades along with being First Team All-ALC.

Paced by the All-American duo and led by second-year head coach Alexis Venechanos, the 2012 Buckeyes finished the season 11-6 overall with their second-consecutive trip to the semifinals of the ALC Tournament. Ohio State reached double-digit victories for the seventh time in 17 seasons after starting the year 5-0 for the first time in a decade.

The IWLCA honored 48 student-athletes in Division I with a selection on the All-America teams for 2012. The IWLCA will honor the National All-Americans at the IWLCA All-American banquet on June 16, 2012 at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge in King Prussia, Pa.

First Team
Becca Block, Syracuse, Jr., D
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt, Sr., M
Brittany Dashiell, Florida, Jr., M
Sam Farrell, Florida, Jr., D
Kellye Gallagher, Loyola, Sr., D
Karri Ellen Johnson, Maryland, Sr., A
Becky Lynch, North Carolina, Sr., A
Mikey Meagher, Florida, Jr., G
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse, So., A
Marlee Paton, Loyola, So., M
Sarah Plumb, Dartmouth, Sr., M
Iliana Sanza, Maryland, Jr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland, Jr., M
Shannon Smith, Northwestern, Sr., A
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern, Jr., D
Michelle Tumulo, Syracuse, Jr., A

Second Team
Alex Aust, Maryland, Jr., A
Dana Cahill, Penn State, Sr., G
Gabby Capuzzi, Ohio State, Sr., M
Lizzy Carney, Penn State, So., D
Kitty Cullen, Florida, Jr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern, Sr., A
Alex Frank, Northwestern, Sr., D
Caroline Helmer, Cornell, Sr., D
Kristin Igoe, Boston College, Sr., M
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State, Sr., A
Josie Owen, Virginia, Sr., A
Sloane Serpe, North Carolina, So., D
Maggie Tamasitis, Notre Dame, Sr., A
Sophia Thomas, Georgetown, Jr., M
Kim Wenger, Duke, Sr., M
Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina, Sr., M

Third Team
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison, Jr., A
Kelly Barnes, Georgetown, Sr., D
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina, Jr., M
Tatum Coffey, Penn State, Fr., M
Lindsey deButts, Princeton, Sr., D
Alexa Demski, Towson, Jr., D
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University, Jr., A
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts, So., A
Julie Gardner, Virginia, Sr., M
Emma Hamm, Duke, Sr., A
Claire Petersen, Stony Brook, Jr., A
Maddie Poplawski, Pennsylvania, Jr., M
Jamie Reeg, Florida, Jr., D
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame, So., M
Mary Teeters, Towson, Sr., G
Katie Webster, Syracuse, So., M