May 17, 2015

Photo Gallery 

Complete Results 

EAST LANSING Mich. — Senior Timothy Faust won the second Big Ten 200-meter title of his career on the final day of the 2015 Big Ten Outdoor Track & Field Championships Sunday at Ralph Young Field. Ohio State placed fourth as a team with 78 points.

Faust edged DJ Zahn of Illinois at the wire to win in a personal-best time of 20.34 seconds, the No. 3 time in the OSU indoor record book and the ninth-fastest time in Division I this season. The win marks the first individual outdoor title of the senior’s career — he previously won a gold medal in the indoor 200 as a sophomore in 2013. A native of Harvey, Ill., Faust also added a bronze medal in the 100-meter dash to his haul, posting a personal-best time of 10.32 seconds.

As a team, Ohio State collected a total of seven medals on the final day of competition — one gold, three silver and three bronze. The team closed the meet with nine medals total, as senior Jackson Neff and freshman Zack Bazile won bronze medals on Saturday. 

Sophomore LaMar Bruton also enjoyed a fast day on the track, earning a silver medal in the 400-meter dash in a time of 46.53 seconds and a sixth-place finish in the 200-meter dash in 21.46 seconds. Bruton was also a member of the Buckeyes’ runner-up 4×400-meter relay team (3:06.83) alongside junior Champ Page, freshman Davon Anderson and redshirt junior Antonio Blanks. The foursome led for most of the race before Illinois used a final push to take the title.

Ohio State was led in the field by redshirt junior J.C. Murasky, who used a personal-best throw of 20.16 meters (66-1.75) to capture a silver medal in the shot put. Murasky’s throw ranks third in the OSU outdoor record book and sixth in Division I this season.

Junior Donovan Robertson raced to a third-place and personal-best time of 13.62 in a fast 110-meter hurdle final. Robertson’s bronze-medal time ranks 17th in Division I this season and second in the OSU record book.

Blanks also claimed a bronze medal for the Buckeyes in the 400-meter hurdles, crossing the line in a time of 51.18.

BTN will air tape-delayed coverage of the Big Ten championships May 24 at 11 a.m. ET. Check your local listings for channel information.

Other highlights:
• Ohio State’s 4×100-meter relay team — Faust, Anderson, Robertson and senior Malcolm Branson — was fifth in a time of 40.62 seconds.
• Sophomore Anthony Johnson used a time of 1:49.89 — to place sixth overall in the 800-meter run.
• Page was sixth in the 400-meter final in a time of 47.34 seconds.
• Freshman Cole Gorski placed ninth in the pole vault, clearing a personal-best height of 5.01 meters (16-5.25).

Final Team Standings
1. Illinois — 145 points
2. Nebraska — 109
3. Iowa — 81 
4. Ohio State — 78
5. Penn State — 67
6. Minnesota — 61
7. Michigan State/Wisconsin — 55
9. Purdue — 54
10. Michigan — 42
11. Rutgers –36
12. Indiana — 28
13. Maryland — 6

Ohio State Points Breakdown
200m — 13
400m — 11
4x400m relay — 8
Shot Put — 8
100m — 6
110m hurdles — 6
400m hurdles — 6
Long Jump — 6 points
3000m steeplechase — 6
4x100m relay — 4
800m — 3
High Jump — 1
Total — 78 points

First Team All-Big Ten
Cole Henderson, Illinois
David Kendziera, Illinois
Mo Maat, Illinois
Joe McAsey, Illinois
Brandon Stryganek, Illinois
Cam Viney, Illinois
DJ Zahn, Illinois
Terry Batemon, Indiana
Babatunde Amosu, Iowa
Aaron Mallett, Iowa
Mason Ferlic, Michigan
Antonio James, Michigan State
Luca Weiland, Minnesota
James White, Nebraska
Timothy Faust, Ohio State
Darrell Hill, Penn State
Brannon Kidder, Penn State
Michael Shuey, Penn State
Chukwuebuka Enekwechi, Purdue
Matt McClintock, Purdue
Emeka Eze, Rutgers
Joe Hardy, Wisconsin
Malachy Schrobilgen, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten
Dylan Lafond, Illinois
Jonathan Wells, Illinois
Rorey Hunter, Indiana
Keith Brown, Iowa
James Harrington, Iowa
Gabe Hull, Iowa
Vinnie Saucer, Iowa
Tim Ehrhardt, Michigan State
Landon Bartel, Nebraska
Steven Cahoy, Nebraska
Davon Anderson, Ohio State
Antonio Blanks, Ohio State
LaMar Bruton, Ohio State
JC Murasky, Ohio State
Champ Page, Ohio State
Steve Waithe, Penn State
Tyler Askew, Purdue
Josh Suttmeier, Rutgers
Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin

Up Next
Ohio State travels to the NCAA East Preliminaries in Jacksonville, Fla., May 15-17.