May 21, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State senior center Corey Linsley, from Youngstown, Ohio and Boardman High School, has been named to the initial watch list for the Rimington Trophy, presented annually by the Boomer Esiason Foundation to the best center in college football.

Linsley is among 44 centers from the Football Bowl Subdivision, and four from the Big Ten Conference, named to the watch list.

One of four returning starters along the offensive line for Ohio State, Linsely successfully made the transition from offensive guard/tackle to center in the spring of 2012. He became one of the Buckeyes most improved players and preceded to start all 12 games at center last season for the undefeated Buckeyes. He was named honorable mention all-Big Ten Conference by both the conference coaches and media.

Linsley helped the Buckeyes’ offense to a Big Ten-best 37.2 points per game and to 242.2 rushing yards per game (2nd in the Big Ten and 10th nationally). The team also scored a team 34-year best 37 rushing touchdowns last year.

Linsley is a three-year letterwinner who has played in 28 games for the Buckeyes.

The Rimington Trophy will be awarded for the 15th time this season. Ohio State great LeCharles Bentley was the second winner of the Rimington Trophy, in 2001. Three other Buckeyes were Rimington Trophy finalists: Mike Brewster in 2010, Doug Datish in 2006 and Nick Mangold in 2005.

Alabama’s Barrett Jones was the recipient of the trophy last season.

Rimington Trophy Winners
2012 – Barrett Jones, Alabama
2011 – David Molk, Michigan
2010 – Jake Kirkpatrick, TCU
2009 – Maurkice Pouncey, Florida
2008 – A.Q Shipley, Penn State
2007 – Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas
2006 – Dan Mozes, West Virginia
2005 – Greg Eslinger, Minnesota
2004 – Ben Wilkerson, LSU
2004 – David Baas, Michigan
2003 – Jake Grove, Virginia Tech
2002 – Brett Rombert, Miami
2001 – LeCharles Bentley, Ohio State
2000 – Dominic Raiola, Nebraska