Share

COLUMBUS, Ohio – After its record-setting year in 2010, the Ohio State field hockey team is excited to begin a new season this fall as the squad will play 10 games at its ownBuckeye Varsity Field in Columbus.  The Buckeyes will face a tough slate of teams, including six opponents that advanced to the 2010 NCAA Tournament.

The team will look to continue to protect its home turf in 2011 after recording a combined 15-3 record at home the last two seasons. In 2010, Ohio State outscored its opponents, 33-7, in Columbus.

The Buckeyes open their home slate vs. ACC opponent Duke and New Hampshire Aug. 26 and 27, respectively, while hosting Ohio Aug. 31 in their first midweek contest of the year. Following a two-game road swing against Richmond and James Madison Sept. 3 and 4 in Harrisonburg, Va., the team will return to Columbus to host three-consecutive 2010 NCAA Tournament teams Sept. 9-16.

Ohio State will first take on Syracuse Sept. 9 – a rematch of the NCAA quarterfinals a season ago with the Scarlet and Gray victorious, 3-2, in overtime at State College, Pa. The Buckeyes will then welcome CAA opponent Old Dominion Sept. 11 and ACC opponent Wake Forest Sept. 16. After facing the Demon Deacons, the team will travel north for an in-state non-conference game vs. Kent State Sept. 18.

The Scarlet and Gray open the Big Ten season against conference-rival Michigan at home Sept. 23. The team then hits the road to play at Ball State Sept. 27 in Muncie, Ind.

The squad begins the final month of the regular season with three games at home, welcoming Indiana Oct. 1 and Louisville Oct. 4. The Buckeyes conclude their home schedule hosting Iowa Oct. 8.

The team’s last four games of the regular season will be on the road with the first stop in East Lansing, Mich., to face Michigan State Oct. 14. The Scarlet and Gray then play one final non-conference game at Miami (Ohio) Oct. 18 followed by back-to-back Big Ten games at Penn State Oct. 22 in State College, Pa., and at Northwestern Oct. 28 in Evanston, Ill.

Postseason action begins with the 2011 Big Ten Tournament in State College, Pa., Nov. 3-6. The first and second rounds of the 2011 NCAA Tournament will be held Nov. 12-13 at a site to be determined, while the semifinals and national championship game will be played Nov. 18 and 20, respectively, in Louisville, Ky.

2011 Ohio State Field Hockey Schedule

Date

Opponent

Location

Time

Fri., Aug. 26

Duke

Columbus, Ohio

2:00 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 27

New Hampshire

Columbus, Ohio

2:00 p.m.

Wed., Aug. 31

Ohio

Columbus, Ohio

3:00 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 3

Richmond

Harrisonburg, Va.

2:00 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 4

James Madison

Harrisonburg, Va.

2:00 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 9

Syracuse

Columbus, Ohio

2:00 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 11

Old Dominion

Columbus, Ohio

2:00 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 16

Wake Forest

Columbus, Ohio

3:00 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 18

Kent State

Kent, Ohio

1:00 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 23

Michigan

Columbus, Ohio

3:00 p.m.

Tue., Sept. 27

Ball State

Muncie, Ind.

3:00 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 1

Indiana

Columbus, Ohio

1:00 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 4

Louisville

Columbus, Ohio

3:00 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 8

Iowa

Columbus, Ohio

1:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 14

Michigan State

East Lansing, Mich.

3:00 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 18

Miami (Ohio)

Oxford, Ohio

3:00 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 22

Penn State

State College, Pa.

12:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 28

Northwestern

Evanston, Ill.

3:00 p.m.

2011 Big Ten Tournament

Thu.-Sun., Nov. 3-6                  

TBA

State College, Pa.

TBA

2011 NCAA Tournament
First/Second Rounds

Fri.-Sun., Nov. 12-13

TBA

TBA

TBA

 Semifinals

Fri., Nov. 18

TBA

Louisville, Ky.

TBA

National Championship

Sun., Nov. 20

TBA

Louisville, Ky.

TBA