April 28, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s lacrosse team is the fourth seed in the ALC Tournament, hosted by Florida and set to begin Thursday at Donald R. Dizney Stadium in Gainesville, Fla. The Buckeyes will face fifth-seeded Vanderbilt in the quarterfinals for the second season in a row, taking the field at 7 p.m. Thursday, following sixth-seeded Vanderbilt vs. No. 3 seed Penn State.

Florida is the No. 1 seed in the tournament after finishing the ALC slate 5-0, followed by Northwestern (4-1) and Penn State (3-2) in the Top 3. Ohio State, Vanderbilt and Johns Hopkins, in spots four through six, all finished 1-4 in the ALC and earned seeding based on the fourth level of tie-breaking procedures, goals allowed in conference games.

The winner of the Ohio State-Vanderbilt matchup will face top seed Florida in the second semifinal game at approximately 7 p.m. On the other side of the bracket, No. 3 seed Penn State will go against No. 6 seed Johns Hopkins in the first quarterfinal with the winner facing Northwestern at 4:30 p.m. Friday in the first semifinal.

The championship game will begin at noon Saturday.  Live video of all games will be available for free via Florida’s official website, For the complete schedule and ticket information, check out the tournament central page.

Ranked No. 13 in the country, Ohio State finished the regular season 10-5 overall after falling to No. 19 Johns Hopkins, 12-9, Saturday afternoon in Baltimore, Md.