May 15, 2016

Photo Gallery 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 3 Ohio State won its fourth consecutive Big Ten title at the 2016 Big Ten Rowing Championships Sunday morning at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. The Scarlet and Gray won four of five varsity races to close the regatta with 174 points.

Winners of five of the last six Big Ten championships, the Buckeyes own a conference-best seven titles overall. Even without a boat in the Second Novice Eight final, Ohio State still managed a 15-point victory over No. 11 Wisconsin.

After high winds in Indianapolis cancelled preliminary races Saturday, events were moved up two hours Sunday and run in reverse order, starting with the First Varsity Eight competition.

The first contest of the day didn’t disappoint, as the top-seeded Buckeye 1V8, with a time of 6:22.72, edged No. 2 seed Michigan (6:22.79) in a photo finish at the line. Alice Riley, Rachel Engel, Cassandra Johnson, Anna Ralph, Stephanie Williams, Annie Jachthuber, Sarah Davis, Catherine Shields and coxswain Sarah Asad earned Ohio State its sixth title overall in the event. OSU joins Michigan State (2008-11) as the only Big Ten teams to win four consecutive 1V8 titles.

Next up, Allyson Baker, Morgan Hummel, MaryClare Stannard, Bridget Verdeyen, Sandra Dinter, Anne Dietrich, Sarah Peffley, Ida Kruse and coxswain Kylie Soltis captured a conference title in the Second Varsity Eight with a winning time of 6:24.43. The No. 2 seed in the event, OSU defeated No. 3 Wisconsin by six seconds, No. 4 Indiana by seven seconds and the No. 1-seed and defending champion Michigan by eight seconds. Ohio State has won three of the last four conference crowns in the 2V8 and owns a Big Ten-best seven titles overall.

Catherine McNutt, Bridget Schodorf, Hanna Gottschalk, Kaylee Koker and coxswain Maggie Creely continued the winning streak, as the No. 2 seed Buckeyes used a time of 7:10.36 to defeat No. 1 Wisconsin by four seconds. Ohio State has won five consecutive 1V4 titles and a conference-best seven overall.

The Second Varsity Four race featured a second-place finish by the No. 2 seed Buckeyes. Joan Darnell, Ashley Saba, Hannah Hites, Emily Caudle and coxswain Katelyn Carson finished in 7:16.57, 10 seconds behind No. 1 Michigan.

Ohio State’s top-seeded Third Varsity Four – Laura Monteso Esmel, Kimberleigh Warriner, Chelsea Harpool, Stephanie Gase and coxswain Jaz Fonseca Folden – won its fourth title in a row in a time 7:16.64, a half-second faster than No. 2 Michigan. OSU has won all four 3V4 races contest the B1G championships.

The First Novice Eight – Rachel Serafy, Amanda Dues, Hannah Antosz, Danielle Kimmet, Maggie Swallows, Emily Barrett, Jordan Walters, Sierra Cydrus and coxswain Cassidy Jenney closed the competition with a fifth-place finish in a time of 6:56.43 as No. 1 Wisconsin won in a time of 6:45.12.

Five Buckeyes earned All-Big Ten honors at the conclusion of the championships. Davis, Shields and Williams were named First Team All-Big Ten, while Engel and Jachthuber were named Second Team All-Big Ten. Peffley was the Ohio State recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

BTN will air tape-delayed coverage of the championships May 21 at 8 p.m. ET. Check local listings for channel information.

Final Team Standings
1. No. 3 Ohio State – 174 points
2. No. 11 Wisconsin – 159
3. No. 10 Michigan – 154
4. No. 14 Indiana – 115
5. Iowa – 95
6. Minnesota – 86
7. Michigan State – 50
8. Rutgers – 24
Scoring Breakdown
First Varsity Eight – 72 points
Second Varsity Eight – 48
First Varsity Four – 24
Second Varsity Four – 14
Third Varsity Four – 8
First Novice Eight – 8
Total – 174 points

2016 Boat-by-Boat Record
1V8: 32-1/10-1
2V8: 29-4/7-4
1V4: 26-6/6-5
2V4: 29-4/7-4
3V4: 11-7/3-4
1N8: 10-20/0-9
2N8: 0-1/0-1

*Note: First record listed is determined by placement in final standings of races. Second record is strictly win/loss record by race.

Up Next
Ohio State competes at the 2016 NCAA Championships May 27-29 in Gold River, Calif.