May 22, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 3 Ohio State rowing team collected three Big Ten honors Wednesday as head coach Andy Teitelbaum was named Big Ten Coach of the Year, junior Claire-Louise Bode was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year and freshman Catherine Shields earned Big Ten Co-Freshman of the Year honors, the conference office announced.

The award marks the fourth Coach of the Year laurel for Teitelbaum and his second in the last three years. A native of Plainview, N.Y., Teitelbaum previously earned the honor in 2002, 2006 and 2011. This season, Teitelbaum coached the Buckeyes to their fourth Big Ten title with a Big Ten Championship record 160 points after five of seven crews placed first in their respective races. Throughout the 2013 regular season, Teitelbaum guided the Buckeye varsity crews to a 28-8 overall record, including a perfect 8-0 mark in the second varsity eight.

Bode, a native of Johannesburg, South Africa, becomes the third Buckeye to win Athlete of the Year and the first since Ninett Kossowsky in 2006. This year, she led the first varsity eight to a first-place finish at the Big Ten Championships, tallying 63 points towards the team total to clinch the title for the Buckeyes. A three-year member of the first varsity eight, Bode was awarded First Team All-Big Ten honors for her performance at the championships. A two-time CRCA All-Central Region second team and All-Big Ten second team honoree, Bode guided the first varsity eight to a 6-2 overall regular season record this year and a No. 3 seed for the 2013 NCAA Championships.

As a first-year member of the second varsity eight, Shields led the crew to a perfect 8-0 mark throughout the regular season while also guiding the crew to a gold medal at the Big Ten Championships after crossing the line first, 11.3 seconds ahead of Wisconsin and 16.04 seconds ahead of Michigan. A native of Rangiora, New Zealand, Shields is the third Buckeye to take home Freshman of the Year recognition and the first since Annabelle Fago in 2004.

Ohio State returns to action at the 2013 NCAA Championships May 31-June 2 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind.

The Buckeyes advanced to the NCAA Championships for the 14th-consecutive season, earning the No. 1 seed in the second varsity eight, the No. 2 seed in the first varsity four and the No. 3 seed in the first varsity eight.

Coach of the Year:

Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State

Athlete of the Year:

Claire Louise-Bode, Ohio State

Co-Freshmen of the Year:

Katie Cromie, Michigan State

Catherine Shields, Ohio State