April 25, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Alayna Markwordt, a senior attacker on the 13th-ranked Ohio State women’s lacrosse team, was named to the list of 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees, released Wednesday by the Tewaaraton Foundation. The 12th annual Tewaaraton Award finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 31 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C., with the winner being announced that evening.

The women’s award nominees include players from 17 schools, including six from American Lacrosse Conference squads, and representatives from 16 of the current top 20 teams in the April 24 IWLCA Division I Poll.

Markwordt currently is fourth in the nation in per game scoring and assists, producing averages of 5.57 points and 3.14 assists through the Buckeyes’ 14 games this season. She leads the team and power-packed ALC with 78 total points off 34 goals and 44 assists, marking the fourth-consecutive season she has tallied more than 70 points on the year. In fact, all four season totals hold spots in the Top 7 of the Ohio State record books, adding up to the greatest statistical performances in Buckeye history.

With her second of four goals in the Buckeyes’ 21-7 win over Louisville Feb. 19, Markwordt became the leading point scorer in Ohio State women’s lacrosse history and now has 302 points (174g, 128a), obliterating the previous top mark of 243. The Woodbine, Md., native also holds the career goal-scoring record and stands in second-place all-time in assists, trailing the current leader by just 11 helpers. She has scored at least one point in 62-consecutive games, dating back to March 1, 2009, and the fourth game of her freshman season.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 10 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men’s players and 57 women’s players.

“We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year’s finalists next month.” The selection committees are comprised of 12 men’s and ten women’s current and former coaches.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and About The Tewaaraton Foundation First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

2012 Tewaaraton Award Nominees (women’s)
Dana Cahill, Goalie – Penn State University
Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield – University of North Carolina
Ally Carey, Midfield – Vanderbilt University
Kitty Cullen, Attack – University of Florida
Brittany Dashiell, Midfield – University of Florida
Emma Hamm, Attack – Duke University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield – Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack – University of Maryland
Becky Lynch, Attack – University of North Carolina
Alayna Markwordt, Attack – Ohio State University
Alyssa Murray, Attack – Syracuse University
Josie Owen, Attack – University of Virginia
Marlee Paton, Midfield – Loyola University
Sarah Plumb, Midfield – Dartmouth College
Iliana Sanza, Defense – University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield – University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Midfield – Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Attack – Cormell University
Maggie Tamasitis, Attack – University of Notre Dame
Mary Teeters, Goalie – Towson University
Sophia Thomas, Midfield – Georgetown University
Taylor Thorton, Defense – Northwestern University
Michelle Tumolo, Attack – Syracuse University
Kim Wenger, Midfield – Duke University
Laura Zimmerman, Midfield – University of North Carolina