Jan. 31, 2000

COLUMBUS, Ohio – On a night at the Columbus Convention Center when the Ohio State Buckeyes were cheered by over 1,200 fans, senior cornerback Ahmed Plummer was named the 1999 Most Valuable Player and the Bo Rein Most Inspirational Player Award by a vote of his fellow teammates. Later in the evening, Plummer also was presented with the John Galbreath Award as the team’s outstanding scholar-athlete, the Arnie Chonko Award as the team’s outstanding defensive back and the Bill Willis Award as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Ohio State senior co-captain Ahmed Plummer is as good an example of the term great student-athlete as one will ever find. The 1999 Preseason All-American capped a senior season by being named first-team All-Big Ten Conference and then playing in the East-West Shrine Bowl all-star game. He was named a third-team All-American by the Football News and he was a semifinalist for the prestigious Thorpe Award. Plummer finished the year leading all Buckeyes with five interceptions and nine pass break-ups, and he totaled 55 tackles. He also is the 24th Buckeye ever to earn Academic All-America honors. In October, Plummer became OSU’s 18th recipient of the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame Postgraduate Scholarship.

Senior Michael Wiley was presented with a pair of awards. The tailback picked up the Archie Griffin Award as the Offensive Player of the Year and the Rex Kern Award as the team’s outstanding back. Wiley led the Buckeyes with 952 yards rushing and 10 touchdowns.

Junior Na’il Diggs was presented with the Randy Gradishar Award as the outstanding linebacker. A first team All-America honors from Football News, he led the Buckeyes with 94 tackles, 15 tackles-for-loss and six quarterback sacks. The junior also forced a team high three fumbles en route to becoming head coach John Cooper’s 20th All-America selection at Ohio State. Senior Kevin Houser was presented with the Ike Kelley Award as the outstanding special teams player. A four-year Buckeye letterman, he played extensively at tight end as a junior and senior and for four years was a key member of the special teams. Most notably, he served as the long snapper for all punts, extra points and field goals over his four seasons and never had a snap go awry in over 450 attempts.

Senior James Cotton was presented with the Jack Stephenson Award as the outstanding defensive lineman. The defensive end led all lineman with 56 tackles and five quarterback sacks.

Two juniors earned top honors at their respective positions. Offensive lineman Le’Charles Bentley was presented with the Jim Parker Awards as the team’s top lineman. Ken-Yon Rambo was presented with the Paul Warfield Award as the team’s top receiver.

Awards for outstanding first-year players on offense and defense were given to quarterback Steve Bellisari and safety Michael Doss.